GermanEnglish

Chronicle

More than 500 years of pub culture 

The tranquil one is only 50 kilometers from Salzburg at 712 meters above sea level  Abtenau resort. It is located close to the picturesque market square, not far from “Kirchplatzl” Traditional Hotel Post ...
Since more than 500 years this hospitable house is at the heart of Abtenau. When the stagecoaches still drove through the country, horses were changed here and also the post office was housed here - hence the name "Inn Post ". On Original part a historic KuK stagecoach can still be admired in the hotel lobby today.

Over the years, the early "KuK Poststation" developed into a cozy village inn. At the beginning of the 20th century, the Lammertal region became an insider tip for “summer visitors” from all over the world looking for relaxation.
The small summer hostel at the turn of the century has developed into a modern 4-star hotel over the years. Equipped with a generously designed ambience, lovingly decorated with antiques. Today the Post is a house with that certain something - with flair and history.
And right in the heart of Abtenau near the Kirchplatzl is our Hotel Post. The cozy guest house with a long history combines grown tradition with the comfort of a modern 4-star hotel.

Once upon a time ... a village inn!

The year is 1899 ... Back then the Gasthof Zur Post was still called “Bichlwirtshaus“, Which the couple Barbara and Mathias Buchegger bought on July 5, 1899. Little by little, four offspring saw the light of day here. The inn was quickly renovated, the hayloft was transformed into a dance floor, and the meat bank and post office expanded into a dining room.

After the death of post host Matthias Buchegger in 1920, widow Barbara continued to run the inn on her own. Daughter Corona married Johann Windhofer, the bear owner in Abtenau, in 1921 and gave birth to five children. In 1927 the Windhofers leased the business, and the inn passed into their possession in 1932. Of course they were in this era too generous conversions and extensions carried out, the terrace enlarged, the rooms raised and running water introduced everywhere. The "Posthans" was not only a born innkeeper, but also a trained butcher and beyond Horse lover.

Wedding in 1921

Corona Buchegger (post office owner's daughter) and Johann Windhofer successfully ran the post office owner from 1932–1962.

Premiere brochure: the very first advertisement for the Gasthof Postwirt in 1936.

 

Wedding bells from 1965

In the happy month of May, Hans Windhofer married his Lisbeth Pesentheiner from Dienten am Hochkönig and is happy with her to have three children. Hansi, Corona and Peter. With his Elisabeth, the Post Hans has made sure that the neat inn with Country house flair and Wellness comfort was enriched. One activity chased the other - in 1968 the kitchen was rebuilt, in 1972 it was extended and raised in the country house style, new balconies opened up new prospects. In 1976 more rooms were added and the post host was already dreaming of one in-house indoor swimming pool, which was realized in 1984.

His reputation as a horse and cattle dealer extended far beyond the borders, and the inn became a Fiaker and wagon trade affiliated. Son Hans grew up with this love of horses, who personally knew every horse that was in the area. Hans studied at the renowned hotel “Österreichischer Hof” in the festival city of Salzburg and from 1945 worked again in his parents' business. During this difficult time, the landlords looked after many children and families from Germany as part of the "Kinderland-Versand" here in Abtenau. In 1962, son Hans Windhofer took over the family business.

Four stars in 1994

After his father had had a serious heart operation, his son Hans took over the inn in 1994, which he soon took over for his comfort four stars was awarded. Hans Windhofer's personal signature can also be seen today in a number of other renovations, in the spacious panorama restaurant and in the cozy ones Bichlwirt, Bürger- und Zirbenstuben. He made the “Post in a New Dress” the first address for lovers of Tradition and quality - and created a concept for heart and soul that has proven itself to this day.

Celebrities back in the day

Here the emperor was a guest - here the guest is king!

Nice "in the time of the emperor“Many guests of high rank from the upper class, film and nobility, from the Grand Duke to the Queen, met here. Emperor Franz Joseph also flattered after his stay at the Gasthof Post: “It was very nice, I was very happy”.

The hosts at the Postwirt always tried to please their guests. Some prominent personalities from the European aristocracy thanked them for this - in addition to Emperor Franz Joseph, Archduke Ferdinand I stayed here with his wife Sophie and Duchess von Hohenberg. Even the Queen of Belgium stopped by the post office. Furthermore, Duke Franz Ferdinand of Tuscany, Archduke Franz Josef of Tuscany and Grand Duchess Alix of Tuscany stayed in the legendary Postwirt.

 

Also prominent hunting guests like Baron Imhof, industrialists like pencil manufacturer Faber, the inventor of the nylon fiber, Prof. Dr. Mark and holidaymakers from all over the world, including Russians and Americans, liked to come to the Gasthof zur Post even back then. The landlady Barbara spoiled her honorable guests according to all the rules of gastronomic art and knew a solution for every problem. So she said to the tall Duke Eugen, who was just wondering about the length of his beds: "Your Highness, if the beds are too short for you, then just lie across!"

The entries in the "tourist books" that still exist go back to 1901. The popular actor David Niven also immortalized himself in the guest book of the post office owner. He lived here in 1968 during the shooting of the film “Before Winter Comes” and signed the words “Thank you - very much !!” in the guest book. 

                                                                                        david niven

The crest

What is behind our family crest is no longer a family secret:
The bike stands for the Fiaker and wagon trade. Horse head and handshake symbolize horse and cattle trade. Of the key refers to the guest and accommodation business, and as a former post office this house carries that Post horn in the coat of arms.

                          logo-hotel-post-abtenau-400x175-beige

Hotel Post on Facebook

Slumber Atlas

GermanEnglishItalian

Chronik

Mehr als 500 Jahre Wirtshaus-Kultur 

Nur 50 Kilo­me­ter von Salz­burg ent­fernt liegt auf 712 Metern See­hö­he der beschau­li­che  Erho­lungs­ort Abten­au. Dicht am male­ri­schen Markt­platz, unweit vom „Kirch­platzl“, steht das Tra­di­ti­ons­ho­tel Post
Schon seit mehr als 500 Jah­ren steht die­ses gast­li­che Haus im Her­zen von Abten­au. Als noch die Post­kut­schen durch das Land fuh­ren, wur­den hier in die Pfer­de gewech­selt und auch das Post­amt war hier unter­ge­bracht – daher der Name „Gast­hof Post“. Ein Ori­gi­nal­teil einer his­to­ri­schen K.u.K. Post­kut­sche ist übri­gens noch heu­te in der Hotel­hal­le zu bewundern.

Aus der frü­hen „K.u.K. Post­sta­ti­on“ ent­wi­ckel­te sich im Lau­fe der Jah­re ein gemüt­li­ches Dorf­wirts­haus. Anfang des 20. Jahr­hun­derts wur­de die Lam­mer­tal-Regi­on zum Geheim­tipp für Erho­lung suchen­de „Som­mer­frisch­ler“ aus aller Welt.
Aus der klei­nen Som­mer­her­ber­ge der Jahrund­er­t­wen­de ent­wi­ckel­te sich im Lau­fe der Zeit ein moder­nes 4‑S­ter­ne-Hotel. Aus­ge­stat­tet mit groß­zü­gig gestal­te­tem Ambi­en­te, lie­be­voll deko­riert mit Anti­qui­tä­ten. Heu­te ist die Post ein Haus mit dem gewis­sen Etwas – mit Flair und Geschich­te.
Und mit­ten im Her­zen von Abten­au nahe am Kirch­platzl liegt unser Hotel Post.  Das urge­müt­li­che Gast­haus mit lan­ger Geschich­te ver­eint gewach­se­ne Tra­di­ti­on mit dem Kom­fort eines moder­nen 4‑S­ter­ne-Hotels.

Es war einmal … ein Dorfwirtshaus!

Wir schrei­ben das Jahr 1899 … Der Gast­hof Zur Post hieß damals noch „Bichl­wirts­haus“, wel­ches das Ehe­paar Bar­ba­ra und Mathi­as Bucheg­ger am 5. Juli 1899 gekauft hat. Nach und nach erblick­ten hier vier Spröss­lin­ge das Licht der Welt. Das Wirts­haus wur­de zügig reno­viert, der Heu­bo­den in einen Tanz­bo­den ver­wan­delt, die Fleisch­bank und Post­kanz­lei zum Spei­se­saal ausgebaut.

Nach dem Tode von Post­wirt Mat­thi­as Bucheg­ger im Jah­re 1920 führ­te Wit­we Bar­ba­ra den Gast­hof allei­ne wei­ter. Toch­ter Coro­na hei­ra­te­te 1921 Johann Wind­ho­fer, den Bären­wirt in Abten­au, und bringt danach fünf Kin­der zur Welt. Im Jah­re 1927 pach­te­ten die Wind­ho­fers den Betrieb, der Gast­hof ging schon 1932 in ihren Besitz über. Natür­lich wur­den auch in die­ser Ära groß­zü­gi­ge Um- und Aus­bau­ten durch­ge­führt, die Ter­ras­se ver­grö­ßert, die Zim­mer auf­ge­stockt und über­all Fließ­was­ser ein­ge­lei­tet. Der „Post­hans“ war nicht nur ein gebo­re­ner Wirt, son­dern auch gelern­ter Fleisch­hau­er und dar­über hin­aus Pfer­de­narr.

Hochzeit anno 1921

Coro­na Bucheg­ger (Post­wirts­toch­ter) und Johann Wind­ho­fer führ­ten den Post­wirt erfolg­reich von 1932–1962.

Pre­mie­ren-Pro­spekt: die aller­ers­te Wer­bung für den Gast­hof Post­wirt anno 1936.

 

Hochzeitsglocken anno 1965

Im Won­ne­mo­nat Mai hei­ra­te­te Hans Wind­ho­fer sei­ne Lis­beth Pesen­thei­ner aus Dien­ten am Hoch­kö­nig und freut sich mit ihr über drei Kin­der. Han­si, Coro­na und Peter. Mit sei­ner Eli­sa­beth hat der Post Hans dafür gesorgt, dass der schmu­cke Gast­hof mit Land­haus­flair und Well­ness-Kom­fort berei­chert wur­de. Eine Akti­vi­tät jag­te die ande­re – 1968 wur­de die Küche umge­baut, 1972 im Land­haus­stil wei­ter aus­ge­baut und auf­ge­stockt, neue Bal­ko­ne erschlos­sen neue Aus­sich­ten. 1976 kamen wei­te­re Zim­mer dazu und schon träum­te der Post­wirt von einem haus­ei­ge­nen Hal­len­bad, wel­ches 1984 rea­li­siert wurde.

Weit über die Gren­zen hin­aus reich­te sein Ruf als Pfer­de- und Vieh­händ­ler, dem Wirts­haus wur­de ein Fia­ker- und Fuhr­werk­ge­wer­be ange­glie­dert. So wuchs auch Sohn Hans mit die­ser Pfer­de­lie­be auf, der jedes Ross, das sich in der Gegend her­um­trieb, per­sön­lich kann­te. Hans lern­te im renom­mier­ten Hotel „Öster­rei­chi­scher Hof“ in der Fest­spiel­stadt Salz­burg und arbei­te­te ab 1945 wie­der im elter­li­chen Betrieb. In die­ser schwie­ri­gen Zeit betreu­ten die Wirts­leu­te vie­le Kin­der und Fami­li­en aus Deutsch­land im Rah­men der „Kin­der­land-Ver­schi­ckung“ hier in Abten­au. Im Jah­re 1962 über­nahm Sohn Hans Wind­ho­fer den elter­li­chen Betrieb.

Vier Sterne anno 1994

Nach schwe­rer Herz­ope­ra­ti­on des Vaters über­nahm Sohn Hans 1994 den Gast­hof, der bald für sei­nen Kom­fort auch mit vier Ster­nen aus­ge­zeich­net wur­de. Hans Wind­ho­fers per­sön­li­che Hand­schrift zeigt sich heu­te auch in etli­chen wei­te­ren Umbau­ten, im groß­zü­gi­gen Pan­ora­ma-Restau­rant, in den gemüt­li­chen Bichlwirt‑, Bür­ger- und Zir­ben­stu­ben. Er mach­te die „Post im neu­en Kleid“ zur ers­ten Adres­se für Lieb­ha­ber von Tra­di­ti­on und Qua­li­tät – und schuf ein Kon­zept für Herz und See­le, das sich bis heu­te bewährt.

Promis anno dazumal

Hier war der Kaiser zu Gast – hier ist der Gast König!

Schon „zu Kai­sers Zei­ten“ tra­fen sich hier vie­le Gäs­te mit Rang und Namen aus Groß­bür­ger­tum, Film und Adel, vom Groß­her­zog bis zur Köni­gin. Auch Kai­ser Franz Joseph schmei­chel­te nach sei­nem Auf­ent­halt im Gast­hof Post: „Es war sehr schön, es hat mich sehr gefreut“.

Die Wirts­leu­te vom Post­wirt waren stets bemüht, ihre Gäs­te zufrie­den zu stel­len. Dies dank­ten ihnen auch eini­ge pro­mi­nen­te Per­sön­lich­kei­ten aus dem euro­päi­schen Hoch­adel – neben Kai­ser Franz Joseph näch­tig­ten hier auch Erz­her­zog Fer­di­nand I mit Gemah­lin Sophie und Her­zo­gin von Hohen­berg. Sogar die Köni­gin von Bel­gi­en mach­te hier beim Post­wirt Sta­ti­on. Des Wei­te­ren logier­ten Her­zog Franz Fer­di­nand von Tos­ka­na, Erz­her­zog Franz Josef von Tos­ka­na und Groß­her­zo­gin Alix von Tos­ka­na im legen­dä­ren Postwirt.

 

Auch pro­mi­nen­te Jagd­gäs­te wie Baron Imhof, Indus­tri­el­le wie Blei­stift­fa­bri­kant Faber, der Erfin­der der Nylon­fa­ser, Prof. Dr. Mark und Urlau­ber aus aller Welt, so auch Rus­sen und Ame­ri­ka­ner, haben sich schon damals ger­ne im Gast­hof zur Post ein­ge­fun­den. Die Wir­tin Bar­ba­ra ver­wöhn­te ihre hono­ri­gen Gäs­te nach allen Regeln gas­tro­no­mi­scher Kunst und wuss­te für jedes Pro­blem eine Lösung. So sag­te sie zum groß­ge­wach­se­nen Her­zog Eugen, der sich gera­de über die Län­ge sei­ner Bet­ten wun­dert: „Kai­ser­li­che Hoheit, wenn Ihnen die Bet­ten zu kurz sind, dann legen Sie sich halt quer d’rüber!“

Die Ein­tra­gun­gen in den noch vor­han­de­nen „Frem­den­bü­chern“ rei­chen bis zum Jahr 1901 zurück. So ver­ewig­te sich auch der belieb­te Schau­spie­ler David Niven beim Post­wirt im Gäs­te­buch. Er wohn­te hier im Jah­re 1968 wäh­rend der Dreh­ar­bei­ten zum Film „Bevor der Win­ter kommt“ und trug sich mit den Wor­te  „Vie­len Dank – very much!!“ in das Gäs­te­buch ein.

Das Wappen

Was hin­ter unse­rem Fami­li­en­wap­pen steckt, sei nicht län­ger Fami­li­en­ge­heim­nis:
Das Rad steht für das Fia­ker- und Fuhr­werks­ge­wer­be. Pfer­de­kopf und Hand­schlag sym­bo­li­sie­ren Pfer­de- und Vieh­han­del. Der Schlüs­sel bezeich­net den Gast- und Beher­ber­gungs­be­trieb, und als ehe­ma­li­ge Post­sta­ti­on trägt die­ses Haus das Post­horn im Wappen.

Hotel Post auf Facebook

Schlummer Atlas